SPRING 2023 TO FALL 2023

DISTINGUISHED FACULTY and SENIOR APPOINTMENTS

Alma Guillermoprieto, Distinguished Visiting Professor in the Division of Languages and Literature (fall 2023) Walid Raad, Distinguished Visiting Professor of Photography (2023-2024) Marina van Zuylen to Clemente Chair in the Humanities

NEW TENURE-TRACK FACULTY

Nathanael Aschenbrenner, Assistant Professor of History

Youssef Ait Benasser, Assistant Professor of Economics

Jace Clayton, Assistant Professor of Studio Arts (and Director of Graduate Studies in the Milton Avery Graduate School of the Arts)

Valentina Grasso, Assistant Professor of History

Sucharita Kanjilal, Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Suzanne Kite, Distinguished Artist in Residence of Studio Arts and Assistant Professor of American and Indigenous Studies

Theresa Law, Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Chiara Pavone, Assistant Professor of Japanese

TO TENURE-LINE

J. Andrew Bush to Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Ziad Dallal to Assistant Professor of Arabic

Tanya Marcuse to Associate Professor of Photography

Daaimah Mubashshir to Assistant Professor of Theater and Performance

Phuong Ngo to Assistant Professor of Japanese

Matthew Sargent, Assistant Professor of Music

Jana Schmidt, Assistant Professor of German

PROMOTION AND/OR TENURE

Alex Benson promoted to tenured Associate Professor of Literature

Adhaar Desai promoted to tenured Associate Professor of Literature

Christopher LaFratta promoted to Professor of Chemistry

Gideon Lester promoted to tenured Professor of Theater and Performance

Pavlina Tcherneva promoted to Professor of Economics

Olga Touloumi promoted to tenured Associate Professor of Architectural History

Thomas Wild promoted to Professor of German

NEW VISITING FACULTY

Dror Abend-David, Visiting Assistant Professor of Hebrew (2023-2024)

Autumn Ahn, Visiting Artist in Residence of Studio Arts (fall 2023)

Tyler Archer, Postdoctoral Fellow in Classical Studies (2023-2025)

Janaki Bakhle, OSUN Professor

Valérie Thérèse Bart, Visiting Artist in Residence of Theater and Performance (fall 2023)

Maxim Botstein, Fritz Stern Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow (2023-2024)

Belle Cheves, Postdoctoral Fellow at the Levy Economics Institute (2023-2024)

Sean Colonna, Felicitas Thorne Postdoctoral Fellow in Music (2023-2024)

Volmir Cordeiro, Visiting Artist in Residence (partnership with the FACE Foundation) (fall 2023)

Claire Galloway, Artist in Residence of Music (2023-2024)

Antonio Gansley-Ortiz, Visiting Instructor in the Humanities (fall 2023)

Dedrick Gray, Visiting Artist in Residence (2023-2024)

Taylor Hart, Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology (fall 2023)

Lloyd Hazvineyi, Assistant Professor of History (OSUN faculty exchange from the University of Witwatersrand,

2023-2024)

Celina Jiang, Visiting Instructor of Chinese (2023-2024)

Marie Luise Knott, National Endowment for the Humanities/Hannah Arendt Center Distinguished Visiting Fellow (fall 2023)

Soonyoung Lee, Visiting Assistant Professor of Korean Literature, Language, and Culture (2023-2024)

Kyle Mohr, Visiting Instructor in Economics (2023-2024)

Marcela Santander, Visiting Artist in Residence (partnership with the FACE Foundation) (fall 2023)

FACULTY GOING ON SABBATICAL

Susan Aberth Thomas Hutcheon James Romm (LOA S24) Ivonne Santovo-Orozco Alex Benson Swapan Jain Caitlin Leverson Nathan Shockey (LOA S24) Katherine Boivin Patricia Lopez-Gay (LOA S24) Sophia Stamatopoulou-Robbins John Cullinan (LOA S24) Kyle Gann Susan Merriam (LOA S24) Kathryn Tabb (LOA S24) Hal Haggard A. Saveeda Moreno

FACULTY RETURNING FROM SABBATICAL

Elias Dueker Miles Rodriguez Whitney Slaten Joseph Luzzi Frank Scalzo Maria Sonevytsky Melanie Nicholson Maria Simpson Daniel Williams

FACULTY GOING (or continuing) ON LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Ephraim Asili (2023-2024) Valeria Luiselli (2023-2024) Pavlina Tcherneva (sabb S24)
Gidon Eshel Keith O'Hara (2023-2024) Sam Vernon (2023-2024)
Claire Marie-Hefner Dina Ramadan (2023-2024) Shuo Zhang (2023-2024)

Joshua Livingston (2023-2024) Susan Rogers (S23, 2023-2024)

FACULTY RETURNING FROM LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Ross Exo Adams Jay Elliott Kobena Mercer Sanjib Baruah Jeannette Estruth Shai Secunda Lauren Curtis Marisa Libbon

OTHER CHANGES

Myra Armstead to half-time (as Lyford Paterson Edwards and Helen Gray Edwards Professor of Historical Studies and Senior Advisor to the President, 2023-2024)

Jordan Ayala continuing as Visiting Assistant Professor of Data Analytics and Environmental Studies (2023-2025)

Diane Barkstrom continuing (fall 2023)

Thomas Bartscherer continuing (2023-2024)

Vanessa Boettiger continuing (2023-2024)

Teresa Buchholz to full-time (2023-2024)

Jasmine Clarke continuing (2023-2025)

Elizabeth (Betsy) Clifton continuing (2023-2026)

Adriane Colburn continuing (2023-2024)

Michael Cohen continuing (2023-2024)

Daniella Dooling to Professor of Studio Arts, continuing as co-director of the Studio Arts program (2023-2028)

Charles Doran continuing as Distinguished Visiting Professor of Mathematics and Physics (2023-2025)

Carl Elsaesser continuing (2023-2024)

Helen Epstein continuing (2023-2026)

Gidon Eshel continuing (2023-2028)

John Esposito continuing (2023-2024)

Katherine Fischer returning (fall 2023)

Daphne Fitzpatrick at Bard NYC (fall 2023)

Masha Gessen to Distinguished Visiting Writer (2023-2024)

Beka Goedde continuing (2023-2028)

Brent Green to two-thirds-time

Matthew Greenberg continuing (2023-2024)

Benjamin Hale continuing (2023-2024)

Seth Halvorson continuing (2023-2024)

Fahmidul Haq continuing (2023-2024)

Navneet Kaur returning (fall 2023)

Elena Kim continuing (2023-2024)

Laleh Khorramian continuing (2023-2024)

Huiwen Li continuing (2023-2026)

Christopher Lindner continuing (2023-2024)

Erica Lindsay continuing (2023-2026)

Gabriella Lindsay continuing (2023-2025)

Jana Mader continuing (as Director of Academic Programs for the Hannah Arendt Center)

Artemy Magun continuing (2023-2025)

Mary McLaughlin continuing (fall 2023)

Blair McMillen continuing (2023-2026)

Jubilith Moore continuing (fall 2023)

Joshua Nelson continuing (fall 2023)

Melanie Nicholson to half-time

Beto O'Byrne continuing (2023-2024)

Jenny Offill continuing (2023-2024)

Joseph O'Neill continuing (2023-2026)

Fiona Otway continuing (2023-2024)

Lothar Osterburg to half-time

Gilles Peress continuing (2023-2026)

Eric Person teaching (fall 2023)

Bryson Rand continuing (2023-2024)

Melissa Reardon continuing (2023-2024)

Lisa Sanditz continuing (2023-2026)

Tschabalala Self continuing (2023-2024)

Julianne Swartz continuing (2023-2024)

I. Ketut Suadin continuing (2023-2024)

Francesca Tanksley teaching (fall 2023)

Ashley Tata to full-time

Obianuju Catherine Udeh (DJ Switch) continuing (2023-2024)

Oleksandr Valchyshen continuing (2023-2024)

Roland Vasquez continuing (2023-2025)

Rupali Warke continuing (2023-2024)

Julia Weist continuing (2023-2024)

Robert Weston continuing (2023-2024)

FACULTY LEAVING THE UNDERGRADUATE COLLEGE

Kat Anderson

Sanjib Baruah (retiring)

Laura Battle (retiring)

James Brudvig (retiring)

Michele Dominy (retiring)

Ellen Driscoll (retiring)

Haytham el-Wardany

Kris Feder (retiring)

Patricia Kaishian

Nora Jacobsen Ben Hammed

Sky Hopinka

Franz Kempf (retiring)

Naoko Kumada

Ilka LoMonaco

Liudmila Malyshava

Shay Olmstead

Lucy Sante (retiring) Wakako Suzuki Jean Wagner (retiring) Lindsay Walker Clark